2/10/2014

I started out the day by reviewing my expectations for the Metaphorical Response. The ones that have been turned in to me have been a little weak, and I don’t know if that’s because people forgot all the material was in BB, if they were just rushing to get it turned in, or if I did a poor job explaining the instructions.

  • Make sure that you use real METAPHORS.
  • Make sure you use QUOTES (not paraphrases) that are properly cited with LINE NUMBERS.
  • You only need ONE quote per metaphor!
  • Focus on the third column – this is where you should spend MOST of your time here.
  • Make sure you go look at the Hamlet example in BB.

Today, we finished Beowulf. We started by watching a clip from Secondhand Lions to show how Beowulf could be old (>70) and still be strong and powerful. I stopped doing the Post-It notes – that was a dumb idea that I had. The idea behind was that I wanted to give you guys a PURPOSE for reading, but it just ended up being a time waster for you instead of helping. Don’t worry about that. 🙂

We read The Last Battle, The Spoils, and The Farewell.

I ended up giving you guys Flex Time so hopefully, you used your time wisely. Because I am SUCH a nice person, if you turn in your Beo-Boast or Metaphorical Response TODAY, I won’t give you late points. 🙂

Canaan, we miss you! We are super sad without you! Come back soon!

sad 3rd block

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *