8/22/17 (AP)

I reminded you that we needed How To Read Literature Like a Professor, Othello (yes, you can get No Fear if you’d like), and Pygmalion. We have class sets of Othello and Pygmalion if you’d like, but if you are like me, you are going to want to annotate and analyze in the book.

Get these books ASAP: Othello and Pygmalion will need to be read by 10/2. We will start reading segments of HTRLLAP in September.

We discussed our Creative Coloring activity from yesterday based on these questions:

1. Was this a difficult task for the group? Why or why not? What would have made this easier as a group?

2. How did the group work to create the picture? Who was the leader? Who didn’t work very hard? Who was a helper (or made suggestions)? Who just walked away and did nothing? Who decided the theme? How or why was that theme chosen? Did you practice or trace the pictures? Did everyone listen? Did everyone participate? How well did YOU participate?

3. Is everyone happy with the picture that was created? What would you have done differently if you were working all by yourself? Is there anything you would change?

4. Is it easier to do things by yourself or with a group? Was the group too big or too small? Or just right?

5. Why is it important to be able to work with other as a member of a team?

Honestly, after ten years of doing this, I thought I’d seen and heard it all possible responses to these questions, but you guys gave some great insight.

Then we looked at our finished word cloud from yesterday to remember our focus for the year:

Honestly, I had to look up absquatulate. Good word. I like it when my students stump me! 🙂

We then played Two Rooms and Boom. Once you got past the initial shock of it all (and I tried to explain the game as quickly as possible), you guys did fairly well. We haven’t had time to debrief from my 4th period, but in 2nd period, the blue team won. We also had a few independent gray cards win, too. 4th period: you guys need to learn how to secretly do some card shares! You were flashing everyone your colors and cards! I won’t be surprised if we regroup tomorrow and we don’t have a single winner!

image

I want you to remember this experience as you read Othello. You might be able to talk me into another now that you know how the game is played. 😉

Tomorrow, we’ll be working with personal essays (college entrance essays or scholarship essays).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *