1/30/2014

I started out today with an apology: Normally, I only read one section a day. BUT, because we have missed two days due to weather, I’ve had to compress two days of reading into one.

So understand that we are going to read WAY more than I usually ask you to do.

While we read, we take notes. Whatever I have highlighted or written down, I want you to write down or highlight. If you miss a day of reading, the best way to get caught up is by getting the notes from my hard copy in the classroom:

Beowulf NotesToday, we read The Wrath of Grendel and The Coming of Beowulf. For each of those headings, you should have turned the heading into a QUESTION on a Post-It Note. You will save these until the end of Beowulf and then you will turn them in. Please don’t give me your random Post-It Notes.

questions

Siria, since you missed today, you’ll need to make sure that you understand what happened. Get the notes, read on your own, and if you help, you can read this and this.

Lastly, I explained the Metaphorical Response. You will come up with ten metaphors from Beowulf. Make sure that your metaphors are real metaphors: don’t describe Beowulf as a soldier because he IS a soldier. Don’t describe Grendel as a monster because he IS a monster. Try to stick with inanimate objects.

You should have gotten the metaphor for Beowulf completed today. We will work a little each day on this, but you will need to keep up with the work. This will be due by Friday, February 7th.

When we finished reading, we

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *