4/5/2013

Today, we approach the first major grade of English IVB: The Obituary.

There are instructions in LMS, but I want to stress a few things – this is NOT about how you die, this is about how you LIVED your life. I’m going to look and see if your obituary exemplifies the concept of carpe diem. So don’t just focus on what you did in your life in high school – you haven’t been able to live your life to the fullest yet.

Also, I am requiring that you be old – at least 80. I don’t want to get the heebie jeebies this.

I have written my own, and it is up in LMS as an example for you to use as a model, but I’m going to be honest – the MOST helpful item that I used when writing my own obit was the Blog of Death. There are really fascinating obits in there that you can use as good models. Remember, modeling is where you use the sentence structure, not the ideas.

We will have a little time in class on Monday to finish this and it will be due on Tuesday, April 9th.

Also, most of your grades have been updated in Gradespeed. Keep up the great work!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *