11/1/2016

I know I’ve gotten behind with updating my blog: between sick babies, being sick myself, and the end of the grading period, I’ve been struggling to keep my head above water. As of noon today, my family has officially been fever free for 24 hours! Huzzah!

Remember – everything we do is connected. Think of my daily assignments like steps –

steps

If you don’t do the daily activities leading UP to the Final Copy, it’s going to be really hard to do a good job on it. I’m a little worried because there are A LOT of zeros in the gradebook for these foundational assignments. I absolutely can see a difference between the students who do the daily activities and the students who decide to be “trailblazers” and do things their own way.

I am a firm believer that you can’t become a better writer by doing worksheets or defining vocabulary words. The only way you can become a better writer is if you write! Crazy idea, I know! The other thing that can help your writing is if you read examples of good writing. Because of that, we looked at a few examples of powerful persuasion from Miracle on Ice, Remember the Titans, Judgment at Nuremberg, and To Kill a Mockingbird. Then, using our thesis statements, we practiced by using five different techniques.

30% of the rubric is over your persuasive techniques, so if you revise your essay with what we did in class today, you are making sure you have covered this aspect in your essay. See! If you do the daily work, it makes sure you address the rubric ahead of time! Work smarter, not harder!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *