4/14/2016

I’ve added new behaviors to Class Craft today! Hooray!

Also, progress reports came out today, so if you are still missing your Obituary, get that turned in ASAP! I’ve also moved a few things around so that we can finish writing our Carpe Diem: The Bucket List Essay tomorrow. You can thank me by turning your work in. 😉

First, we talked about the word pastoral and the related words naive, country, and provincial.

pastoral

provincial

We then watched the opening scene from Beauty and the Beast and compared/contrasted it with Beauty and the Beat, by Todrick Hall. We also talked a little about caricatures and whether or not the video was racist.

B&B

We then read and annotate the Passionate Shepherd and The Nymph’s Reply.

Here is poem 1.

Passionate Shepherd

I woo’d students with promises of Taco Bell, garage livin’, and chasing nutria at Meyer Park. No one took me up on the offer, but Brenden was tempted! Joe broke my grass skirt! Can you believe it!?!?!

(I’m waiting for pictures! I’ll give XP if you share/send pictures of the class models to me!)

Walter Raleigh read that poem and thought it was ridiculous. Kinda like I thought when I first heard Bruno Mars’ “Grenade.” So he wrote a response:

nymph

I normally give people time to work on the Partner Persuasion poem pre-writing, but I want to give you guys a little more time to finish your Carpe Diem essay from yesterday.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *