2/2/2015 – A

Ahoy, mateys! Today, we started off class by filling out the What I’m Good At table. You can find this BB > Beowulf > Beo-Boast. Don’t worry about complete sentences for this prewriting.

boast prewritingThis is mine. You can write yours either in a Word document and turn that in, or you can just write your notes in the Comment section of the drop box.

The instructions are in Beo-Boast, along with one of Beowulf’s boasts, a boast that someone wrote about Donald Trump, and a boast that I wrote about myself. I also put in boasts from two former students: Amber and Mayra. Amber has a great vocabulary and wrote using antiquated language. She went above and beyond what I asked. Mayra had a great, original opening and used good vocabulary, but this might be a little more accessible to you.

kenning

I also showed you guys how I organized MY poem, and then I gave you a simple outline of what you could do if you were struggling with your boast.

Here is what I drew on the board for you –

 structures

Another idea that you can use instead of a threat is a promise – a promise to your future or your enemies.

The one in black is MY structure and the one in brown is a suggested one (follow this form to boast about what you overcame at your home campus, all the changes that you’ve made here at Vistas, and then what goals you have (graduation and/or career goals). This will be due at the end of the week.

We will have about 1/2 the day on Wednesday to work on it in class, and after that, you’ll be on your own.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *