9/27/2017 (AP)

I spent the first part of the day doing a reteach: I read a few of the TP-CASTT paragraphs and realize that some of you needed more specific instruction, so that’s what I did.

The biggest issue that I saw was that students were mainly superficially analyzing. It read more like people were answering questions in complete sentences than discussing a poem. So, I showed you two resources:

  1. I found an example of someone’s notes right next to the written analysis so that you see the difference betweem the two.
  2. The biggest resource that I found, however, was the How to Connect Literary Devices to Meaning handout. This gave text structures to use when analyzing. I was able to conference with students and direct them o try rewriting using sentence outlines. Most people left feeling more confident about the assignment.

Remember: I want all three paragraphs turned in by Friday, but circle your BEST one.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *