11/14/2014

We read Act 4 today. It went by pretty quickly, so you should have time to get caught up with all of your haikus, especially if you use the Syllable Counter that I have in Blackboard. You can enter in sentences – just be careful with the names of characters. One students used “Desde” as a nickname for Desdemona, and since Desde isn’t a real word, the webpage didn’t recognize it and said it was only ONE syllable rather than two.

Today while reading, we talked about how gestures can be misinterpreted. Remember Riley took a student in hall way to talk about her vegetable noodle peeler? You guys need to get your minds OUT OF THE GUTTER!

carrot

We also talked about how HARSH and HATEFUL Othello’s words to Desdemona were – we agreed that there are some words that you just can’t forgive. If a boyfriend were to compare me to maggots in rotting meat, I’d break up with him. If he said he wished I’d never been born, I’d assume he was breaking up with me. What’s worse to say to someone: “I hate you” or “I wish you’d never been born”?

Get those haikus done! We’ll finish Othello tomorrow!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *